Late winner for Spireites

Akwasi Asante’s brace gave the Spireites a dramatic 2-1 win over Wrexham at the Technique Stadium.

James Rowe gave full debuts to new signings Adam Przybek and Alex Whittle.

Jak McCourt, Tom Whelan and Asante were also brought into the starting line-up with Dylan Wharton, Josef Yarney, Martin Smith, Joe Rowley and Liam Mandeville dropping out.

Chesterfield opened the scoring after ten minutes. McCourt floated a ball into the area and Asante volleyed past Rob Lainton and into the roof of the net.

The Blues looked to add to their lead in double quick time and George Carline sent a low cross across the face of goal, but no one was quick enough to react.

Soon after, Wrexham were awarded a penalty. McCourt was adjudged to have handled the ball inside the area and Luke Young slotted home the spot-kick.

The Spireites had a penalty appeal of their own in the 36th minute. Carline’s long throw looked hit the arm of an opposition defender, but nothing was given.

A stop-start game starved either side of creating any clear-cut opportunities and the half ended with the two teams on level terms.

The first chance of the second half fell to Marcus Dinanga; the striker met a cross from Carline and his header was clawed away by an outstretched Lainton.

Against the run of play, the visitors almost took the lead after the hour-mark. Reece Hall-Johnson looped a cross over to Jordan Ponticelli, but his effort was blocked.

Chances were at a minimum, but seemed to fall the way of Chesterfield. Asante and Carline tried and Lainton denied the duo.

However, with time almost up, Liam Mandeville threaded a ball through the Wrexham defence. Asante latched onto the pass and slotted the ball under Lainton, sparking wild celebrations with Rowe joining in with the players.

The away side almost equalised at the death through Jordan Davies, but the referee soon blew the final whistle to signal another Chesterfield win.

Chesterfield: Przybek, Carline, Evans, Hollis, Maguire, Whittle (Yarney 75), McCourt, Weston, Whelan (Mandeville 82), Dinanga (Rowley 63), Asante.
Unused substitutes: Gunning, M Smith.